Dissertation Defense, Ruiyuan Hu


Dissertation Defense, Ruiyuan Hu

Title:     Distributed Source Coding (DSC)

Date:    Friday, August 7, 2009

Time:    1:30PM

Place:   Packard Lab, Room 416


Distributed source coding (DSC) refers to the problem of compressing of two or more physicallyseparated information sources, where the sources (e.g. sensors) send the (compressed) information to a central point (e.g. monitoring station) without communicating to each other. Cooperative communication, also known as user cooperation or the relay channel problem, allows single-antenna users in a multi-user scenario to share antennas with each other to form a virtual multiple-antenna system. These two technologies, originated in the seventies, have caused a resurgence of interest in recent years. The distributed source coding technology is studied first, and a new scheme to attack the noisy-channel Slepian-Wolf coding problem using serial concatenated codes is proposed. The new scheme provides the following benefits (i) separate refining of compression rate and error protection capability is possible and (ii) many useful results about SCC can be used to achieve joint optimization. Then the design of two-user cooperation schemes by exploiting distributed source coding technologies are proposed. Two user cooperation schemes, Slepian-Wolf cooperation and Wyner-Ziv cooperation}, exploit Slepian-Wolf coding and Wyner-Ziv coding, respectively. Possibly the first practical schemes that implement the idea of compress and forward, these schemes appear to offer substantial gains over existing cooperative strategies especially when the inter-user channel is at outage. And an extension for relay channel to cellular system is studied, which can ncrease both the overall cell capacity as well as coverage near the cell edge at a relatively low cost. In the future, further analysis about the two cooperative schemes is to be made, and distributed source coding design on two correlated memory sources will be investigated.

PhD Committee:

         Tiffany Jing Li, Ph. D.
         Committee Chair Person and Advisor

         Rick Blum, Ph. D.

         Shalinee Kishore, Ph. D.

         Liang Cheng, Ph. D.